A second sock and my ever growing queue.

Hey all. I’m in the midst of some directionless knitting at the moment. I’ve got more projects on the go than I’m comfortable with, and there’s some little problem that’s keeping me from finishing most of them.

Perfect fit socks

Take these socks, for example. I got the yarn at Purl Soho while in New York last fall and knit up the first one lickety split. And then I got to the second one…. and the cuff seemed to take forever … and then Christmas was coming … and there were so many more pressing projects to finish up for that deadline. So the second sock languished until this past May when I figured it was the perfect project to take with me on a work trip out west. I packed it in my carry on and once I was all settled in the plane with my movie picked and everything I pulled it out and realized one of my needles was broken in half. Damn it! So I was knit-less the whole trip, somehow never finding the time to pick up replacement needles. When I got back, other projects wooed me away and I’ve only just this weekend sat down with a new set of needles to finish it off.

Perfect fit sock

Since I took these pictures yesterday I’ve turned the heel of the second sock, and after another few days of tedious foot knitting I’ll be done. One project down, two other troublesome ones to go. As long as I don’t get distracted by any of the new fall patterns, this should be doable.

Perfect fit sock

For curious ravelry users – currently on my needles are this sweater and this sweater. And for this fall/winter I want to make a Lopapeysa with yarn purchased on my trip to Iceland in October. This would be a hilarious knit.

I’d also really like to make a layering sweater – something bulky and long, but with shorter sleeves to wear with slim layers underneath. This one is a serious condender.

Also, my friend Sue and I are planning a crochet-along of this shawl, made bigger a-la-Alicia Paulson.

That’s about it for now. Oh shoot! And I just bought some Rowan fine tween to make a pair of Dala mitts! I might make those next, actually… Good grief, I’d better get back to knitting those socks.

See you next time!

Author: elena (ifihadalittlelamb)

Librarian, chronic hobbyist

One thought on “A second sock and my ever growing queue.”

Leave a comment