marinière

marinière

Marinière, designed by me!
Knitted in SandesGarn Alpakka in shade 1088 (dark grey)
Ravelry link

I’ve been wanting to do it for a while and I finally have – I’ve designed a sweater!  I wanted something as easy as a sweatshirt, and thought a play on a stripey mariniere would be suitable. I wear a lot of stripes – when I organize my closet it’s pretty obvious how I feel about them.

marinière detail

It’s knitted in a lovely alpaca from SandnesGarn in DK weight. It has a gorgeous drape, this yarn, and I’d hoped to capitalize on this by choosing an a-line shape. I found that in order to have the garter stitch stripes firm enough and the stockinette intervals drapey enough I had to use two different needle sizes.

marinière detail

I really enjoyed the process of designing – sketching, swatching, knitting, frogging, modifying. It was lots of fun! Aside from a couple of really small things I won’t bore you with, I’m extremely happy with it.

marinière detail

I’ve got a lot of notes written up from while I was knitting the sweater. If there’s any demand, I’d be happy to write the pattern up.

If you’re looking for any stripey inspiration, this tumblr should keep you going for a while…

Author: elena (ifihadalittlelamb)

Librarian, chronic hobbyist

1 thought on “marinière”

Leave a Reply

