Burnham


Burnham, Designed by Leila Raabe. Published in The LOFT Collection.
Knitted in Rowan Harris 4-ply in shade 018 and Rowanspun 4-ply in shade 709 (both discontinued)
Ravelry link

I mentioned in my last post that I’m trying to get rid of my yarn stash. For this project I used two different 4-ply yarns from Rowan. They’ve been in my stash for at least 3 years, waiting for the right pattern.

I LOVED this pattern. Firstly, I haven’t done any colourwork in a while, and I’ve wanted to get back into it. Secondly, it has some good traditional elements (eg. the braid on the cuff, the cross pattern) but also seems fresh, with the pendleton-esque pattern on the outward facing side. It worked well with my yarns, which weren’t exactly of the same gauge. I ended up using the rowanspun 4-ply doubled, after some trial and error and it was a bit thicker as a result and gave an embossed effect.

Enough geeking out about the pattern – they’re also WARM. I plan to make another pair in Loft, once I’ve got room in my life for new yarn.

Author: elena (ifihadalittlelamb)

Librarian, chronic hobbyist

Leave a Reply

