Work in progress: overcoming jet lag (and legwarmers)

I got back this past Tuesday from a 6-week trip to Tokyo. The trip was partly for work and partly vacation and it was AMAZING.

I took a lot of photos, which you can see here and will probably write about the trip as time goes on. It was very inspiring but at the moment I’m still so jet-lagged and anxious about reentry into work tomorrow that I can’t bring myself to get into it.

While in my jet-lagged daze last week I worked on a project I would never have anticipated myself taking on: leg warmers. But, they were everywhere in Japan and over time I came to think of them as a great idea. True story: a magazine I bought there (Liniere – so good) had a whole story on legwarmers. I love wearing skirts, but in winter I rarely do because my legs get cold. With legwarmers there’s no problem!

I made up my own pattern as I went along – casting on 30 stitches of Rowan Scottish Tweed Chunky in Heath on 6.5mm double pointed needles.  I increased every 5 or 10 rows as I went along using my own legs to guide me, ending up with 42 stitches. I finished up with 9 rows of k1p1 ribbing. No big deal!

Super cozy indoors too, with the gorgeous slippers my Tokyo family gave me for Christmas. Love them! Since I took these photos I’ve finished the second one but have yet to weave in the ends and give them a bath. I do believe they’ll come in handy this winter.

Now, time for cake!

Author: elena (ifihadalittlelamb)

Librarian, chronic hobbyist

1 thought on “Work in progress: overcoming jet lag (and legwarmers)”

  1. Six weeks in Tokyo definitely sounds amazing – lucky you!

    Looking forward to seeing your Jacques Cousteau and best of luck with that jet lag!

Leave a Reply

